Okay y’all, I have an announcement: I’m closing it’s all yoga, baby. As much as I love this blog, it’s time for me to shift my creative energy back to what I truly love doing: writing short fiction. An art form only slightly less obscure than blogging about yoga.

I explain it all in the above video. Please excuse the out-of-sync audio. And my stretched wide face.

It may seem incongruent to move from writing yoga journalism to short fiction, but I’ve actually been working on my writing “career” since I was 19 years old, when I published my first poem in a university arts journal. I’ve had the pleasure of working with many wonderful writing teachers, including Lorna Crozier, Greg Hollingshead, Daphne Marlatt and Diane Warren. I’ve published a few poems, stories and non-fiction in little-known Canadian magazines. Before I started working as editor of ascent, I had been enjoying a few years of fiction writing success, in which I published some stories, did a couple of residencies and was included in an anthology of emerging writers.

So it’s time to get back on track. I’m going to give myself a year to focus on my art and see what happens. I have a plan, I have some goals and I’m going to do my best to meet them. I won’t be posting on the blog, but I’ll be around and still part of the yoga community, commenting on yoga blogs and writing guest posts, etc. You can still find me on Twitter (@itsallyoga_baby) and Facebook (it’s all yoga, baby fanpage).

Bisous, mes amis! xo

