Remember that WonderBra Women of Wonder project that I’ve been doing? I know it’s been ages, but I’ve been quietly doing the assigned missions behind the scenes here and just haven’t had a concentrated period of time to edit the footage (which is admittedly painful and unfun for me – but I’m starting to get the hang of it! I also figured out how to upload high quality vids to YouTube, so this one is far superior to my previous efforts).

So here is my fifth mission, in which I was instructed to “rediscover my community” by doing something nice for my neighbours. I feel pretty fortunate to live in a building where I know all my neighbours, to varying degrees. But I have a special relationship with my next door neighbours: we look out for each other and support each other. They even have a key to my apartment, as they willingly feed my cats when I’m out of town.

I decided to whip up a batch of Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing, a recipe from the excellent food blog Patent and the Pantry which I had been obsessed with all autumn. It works well for Christmas, too, so I definitely recommend making some of these amazing cupcakes for whatever obligatory staff/family gatherings you have to attend over the holidays.

This mission was sweet and fun. I so rarely spontaneously do something nice to express appreciation for the people in my life. It was also a reminder that community happens in the small connections with the people around me. We can all make conscious efforts to create community, one cupcake at a time.

