This is not me, but someone who loves the Saka Pinda as much as I do (image via nytimes.com)

I’m not really into “stuff,” but I acknowledge that we all need stuff. And there is even some stuff that I can’t live without. And I have to admit that there is even some yoga stuff that actually enhances my practice. The one piece of yoga stuff that I can’t live without is my Saka Pinda Yoga Backpack (which I received from the fine people at Yoga Vermont a couple of years ago). I’ve been meaning to write a blog post about how much I love this piece of stuff, and I’ve even considered writing an ode to it.

However, the NY Times Style section beat me to it, reviewing six yoga mat bags in their latest Gear Test. The Saka Pinda came out on top, as “absolutely the No. 1 bag hands down… built for action.”

So what makes the Saka Pinda so awesome? It’s a full-sized backpack (which fits a change of clothes and books and even a bottle of wine, all at once!) with external straps and an amazing Velcro-fastened flap to hold down the mat. It has countless pockets for keys, loose change, pens, yoga passes and cell phones. There’s a little pouch thing for a water bottle. There’s even a secret pocket below the mat holder which stores a flap to cover your mat from the rain! To top it all off, the straps are super ergonomic and no matter how many yoga goodies you carry around, it never feels heavy.

This is what you get when snowboarding yogis from Vermont design a yoga mat bag. It’s perfect for the urban yogi who has to buzz around town on her bike, and squeeze work plus yoga class plus drinks with the girls into one day. Congrats, Yoga Vermont/Saka for an honour well deserved!

