I just received my first blog meme (known as the “MeMe Award,” but really it’s just a regular old meme, which I know and love thanks to Facebook) from the lovely and insightful Ecoyogini! These are the rules: 1) share 7 tidbits about yourself 2) share this MeMe Blog Award with 7 blogger friends. Easy enough! Here goes…

1. The little image next to my blog name in the tab is a close-up of my cat’s face. My cat is named Qyogi (pronounced ‘ki-yo-gi’). He actually came with the name Yogi (I found him on Craig’s List), but I was like, whoa, there’s already a lot of yoga in my life, I don’t need a cat named Yogi. If my cat was a letter, he’d be a Q, but there aren’t a lot of Q names out there, and “yogi” is a cute word, so I just put the two of them together: Qyogi. It suits him perfectly.

2. I have a hard time answering the question: Where are you from? I vaguely respond “B.C.” although I currently reside in Montréal, which feels like the city I was born to live in. I’ve been here for more than 3 years, and now that I’m trying to learn the French language, I think I can almost be considered montréalaise. I was born in Kamloops, a small town in the interior of British Columbia, and have lived all over the province, as well as the U.K. and Japan. Prior to coming to Montréal, I was living at an ashram in the remote mountains of southeastern B.C.

3. I ended up at the ashram after being hospitalized for depression. I was released from the hospital on antidepressants and medical social assistance ~ I was unable to work, but I needed to be doing more than just going to therapy all the time. I also knew that I needed to heal and learn about my mind, how I work. The ashram was the best place to do that, and going there was the best decision I’ve ever made (even though all my family and friends thought that I was joining a cult in my vulnerable time of weakness).

4. I haven’t had any kind of major depressive relapse in the past five years, but it’s always there, lurking in the background. These days I manage it with yoga, an army of professional healers (incl. a massage therapist, shaman, acupuncturist, naturopath) and a constant practice of self-awareness.

5. My latest health issue is degenerative disc disease, which is affecting my spine and particularly the disc between my L5 and sacrum (though I’m convinced there’s something wrong with my L2, also). I’ve been in intensive chiropractic therapy for the past year. I know chiropractors have a bad rep in holistic healing circles, but I love my chiro. Unfortunately, yoga doesn’t help that much (though core-strengthening pilates exercises do) ~ however, it keeps me in touch with my body and allows me to monitor my healing.

6. Editing ascent magazine was my dream job, even though it made me feel burned out and crazy. But it was also very challenging, fulfilling and enriching. I miss it, but I also love being unemployed and taking this space in my life to read, write, hang out, and sit on my balcony watching my cucumbers grow.

7. Yoga, yoga, yoga ~ I love it but it makes me crazy. The only time I’m truly content is when I’m on my mat, doing my practice. While I was working in the strange world of “yoga media” (and since I’m basically a cultural studies nerd at heart), I trained myself to monitor “the industry” and observe how yoga has morphed in North American culture. I haven’t been able to kick the habit, and this blog kind of feeds it, but is also a good outlet. But still, I’m happiest when it’s just me and my practice.

Phew, okay, enough about me! Here are the 7 blogs that I’m going to “tag.” I’m not really giving a meme “award” to bloggers ~ it’s just a little blog love-in and a way to honour the other blogs out there who have inspired me during my brief time in the blogasphere. (Note: for some reason, I’ve felt compelled to only include yoga blogs here, and none of the politics/lit/knitting/roller derby/burlesque blogs I subscribe to ~ I think because I consider the other yogi bloggers to be my online community, whereas the rest are just information.)

1. Yoga for Cynics – I love Dr. Jay’s honest, down-to-earth meditations on life, yoga and everything.

2. YogaDork – the Gossip Girl of the yoga world. I have no idea where or how she digs up the crazy stuff she finds on the internet, but so glad she shares and provokes amazing discussions.

3. My Itchy Third Eye – oh, Yoga Dawg, you make me laugh. Thanks for keepin’ it real.

4. Linda’s Yoga Journey – sassy, opinionated and sincere in her practice.

5. Yoga, the Mind and Culture – I love Brooks’ thoughtful and philosophical reflections.

6. The Everything Yoga Blog – one of the first yoga blogs I discovered, and such a good resource.

7. AnthroYogini – she’s been a little quiet this summer while she’s finishing up her PhD, so I’ve been missing these yogi dispatches from the Australian outback.

